Speech Language Hearing Accolades

Department Rankings

SPLH Graduate Program ranked in #6 in Speech Language Pathology M.A. graduate programs by US News & World Report.

SPLH Graduate Program ranked #6 among public universities.

SPLH Audiology Au.D. ranked #10 and #10 among public Universities.

30% undergraduates complete a research experience.

3 of 12 KU undergraduate research award winners in 2018.

50% undergraduates complete a clinical experience

84% continue education upon graduation in audiology or speech pathology.

96% MA Speech-language pathology graduates employed immediately post graduation.

100% AuD audiology graduates are employed immediately post-graduation.

Group photo of SPLH graduating M.A. students

Student Accomplishments

Karlin McGarvey and Morgan Oliver received an Outstanding Presentation Award for their KU Undergraduate Research Symposium presentation titled “The influence of sample length on reliability of language sample measures for young deaf and hard of hearing children”.

Nicola Santangelo awarded a Summer 2021 UGRA with Dr. Jena McDaniel.

Randi Hutto awarded a Fall 2020 UGRA with Dr. Meghan Davidson.

Alondra Del Real received Honorable Mention for 2020 Therapy Insights Essay Contest for essay titled "The Lack of Diversity in the Field of Speech-Language Pathology."

Emily Sonsthagen presented a Poster in the 23rd Undergraduate Research Symposium(pdf) on April 25, 2020.

Emily Sonsthagen received an Outstanding Presentation Award at Undergraduate Research Symposium.

Sophia Moore and Michaela Russ, SPLH UG students selected as University Scholars.

KUSAAC is the KU Society for Augmentative and Alternative Communication. It was founded in the spring of 2021 and just wrapped up its first year. "Many professionals have a need to know about AAC systems including teachers,music therapists, nurses, and doctors. KUSAAC's mission is to provide a space for students at the University of Kansas to develop professional skills in the area of AAC through participation learning opportunities in the Russell Pardee AAC Lab, as well as opportunities advocacy, and outreach in the area of AAC. During the first year, the board organized five educational events and fou fundraisers to raise money for future events. These events provided students particularly undergraduate students, opportunities to learn and explore technology in a low stakes environment that was not associated with any grade."  KUSAAC was awarded the SILC's Rock Chalk Recognition Award from the Student Involvement & Leadership Center. 


Faculty Accomplishments

You are invited to attend the Inaugural Lecture for Distinguished Professor Steven F. Warren

“Fragile X and the Role of Maternal Responsivity” an inaugural lecture presented by Dr. Steven F. Warren will take place on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, at 5:30 with a reception to follow.

The evening’s activities will take place at The Oread, with the lecture taking place in the Hancock Ballroom and reception in the All-Season’s Den. 

The lecture and reception are open to the public, so we hope to see you there!

Steve Warren approved for Emeritus status. After 23 years of exemplary service to the University of Kansas, Dr. Warren will be Distinguished Emeritus Professor beginning August 18, 2022.

Congratulations to Lindsey Heidrick and Melanie Somogie! University of Kansas Medical Center has been selected as a 2022 SPEAK OUT!® & LOUD CROWD® Grant Recipient! from the Parkinson Voice Project. This will allow the Speech-Language Pathology master's program to partner with TUKHS out-patient SLPs to provide individual and group therapy for the Parkinson's community. Additionally, the program will be able to provide free training for all our graduate students!

Megan Davidson and Jena McDaniel (Post doc) will each be receiving ASHA Foundation New Investigator Research Grants!